

#### **Executive Committee**

Report to Academic Council at its meeting of October 21, 2008

### For Action

## a) University Committee Nominations

The Executive Committee recommends:

That Academic Council approve the following nominations to University-Wide Committees:

#### 1. Tenure Review Committee

Barbara Perry, Professor, Faculty of Criminology, Justice and Policy Studies

As a temporary member: Mark Green, Professor, Faculty of Science

Dr. Perry has been nominated by the Provost to fill a recent resignation from this Committee.

Dr. Green has been nominated to serve as a substitute member to replace Dr. Richard Marceau when files from the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science are considered by the Committee. The Tenure Review Procedures state that "no member of the Tenure Review Committee may be involved in any part of the tenure process at the Faculty level," and therefore, due to his current involvement as Acting Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, Dr. Richard Marceau will recuse himself from the Committee's deliberations on the files from that Faculty. Dr. Marceau is also named as chair of this Committee, and Dr. Brian Campbell will serve in this capacity in his absence.

## 2. Promotion Appeals Committee

Ron Hinch, Professor, Faculty of Criminology, Justice and Policy Studies, as Chair Marc Rosen, Professor, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science Jay Tashiro, Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences

The University's Promotions Procedures state that "The University shall establish a Promotion Appeals Committee consisting of three Full Professors, nominated by the Provost and confirmed by the Academic Council." To this end, Provost Marceau has nominated Drs. Hinch, Rosen and Tashiro to serve on this committee:

## For Information

# b) Election of Student Representatives to Academic Council and its Committees

The following students were elected or acclaimed to serve as the student representatives on Academic Council and its committees for two year terms, from September 1, 2008 to August 31, 2010:

# **Academic Council (two positions):**

Anthony Boland Jay Gill

# **Academic Appeals Committee (two positions):**

Alana Saulnier Ian Ngaira

# Admissions and Scholarship Committee (one position):

Jessica O'Brien

# **Honorary Degrees Committee:**

Mehmet Fatih Orhan (acclaimed)